Reciting Qur’an on Menses

8 Feb

*Women CAN recite Qur’an during their menses.*

1) I know that women on their menses cannot recite any of the ayats of the Quran. When I am not on my period I recite the 4 Quls and Ayatul Kursi before I go to sleep for protection

1) I know that women on their menses cannot recite any of the ayats of the Quran. When I am not on my period I recite the 4 Quls and Ayatul Kursi before I go to sleep for protection. I was wondering is there something else I can recite like a dua as a substitute when I am on my period for protection from jinn, shaytan and evil of mankind? Can you please let me know of this dua and answer my question by writing it down for me? Also I am not sure but can I still verbally recite the 99 beautiful names of Allah when I?m menstruating? 2) The other thing I wanted to ask was regarding a dream. I don?t know if there is any significance but on numerous occasions I have seen and looked in a mirror in my dreams, is there a meaning?

Answer 13316

November 26, 2004

  
Email this question to yourself or a friend

Tell a friend

Show a printer friendly version of this question
Printable Copy

Search through the Fatwa Q & A's
Search Q & A’s 

Browse through the Fatwa Q & A's
View Q & A’s 

Ask Imam your question, online
Ask a Question 

1. The recitation of the four Quls and Aayaatul Kursi is sufficient. You may also recite the 99 names of Allah during menses.

2. Ponder upon the gifts and bounties of Allah you experience, your eyes, mouth, etc. and thank Allah abundantly.

and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai 

Leave a Reply

